Search Districts Within

East Godavari District : Andhra Pradesh

About District

The East Godavari District is located in the North Coastal part of the state of Andhra Pradesh. The District is a residuary portion of the old Godavari District after West Godavari District was separated in 1925. As the name of the district conveys, East Godavari District is closely associated with the river Godavari, occupying a major portion of the delta area. The Headquarters of the District is located at Kakinada. East Godavari District lies North - East Coast of Andhra Pradesh and bounded on the North by Visakhapatnam District and the State of Orissa, on the East and the South by the Bay of Bengal and on the West by Khammam and West Godavari Districts. The East Godavari district is the Rice Granary of Andhra Pradesh, beckons tourists to have a glimpse of its rich cultural heritage where the lush paddy fields swaying in the breeze appear to dance in a celebration to life.East Godavari district is having the area of 12,805 Sq Kms with 7 Revenue divisions viz., Kakinada, Rajahmundry, Peddapuram, Rampachodavaram, Ramachandrapuram, Yetapaka and Amalapuram. The district has 64 Revenue mandals and 1069 Grama panchayats with a population of 52.86 lacs as per 2011 provisional census figure.

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017