Search Districts Within

Krishna District : Andhra Pradesh

About District

Krishna District gets its name from the holy river Krishna, the third largest river that flows in India. The river Krishna originates near Mahabaleswar (Maharastra) and joins the Bay of Bengal near Hamsaladevi Village in the district. Krishna is considered the kernel of Telugu Culture and is the birth place of the famous Indian classical dance form - Kuchipudi. Machilipatnam is the administrative headquarters of Krishna district. Vijayawada is the biggest city in the district (third in the state) and a commercial centre. The population of Krishna District is 45.17 lakhs (2011 Census), making it the 34th in India and 4th in AP. The population density is 519 per sq Kms. Krishna has a gender ratio of 997 women for 1000 males and a literacy rate of 74.37 percent. Agriculture is the main occupation of the people in the district. It is spread over 8,727 Sq.kms and is divided into upland and delta area. The district consists of 50 Mandals in 4 Revenue Divisions, 1 Municipal Corporation (Vijayawada), 5 Municipalities. Krishna district has 3 parliamentary constituencies and 16 assembly constituencies. Krishna district is the symbol of cultural heritage of Telugu people.

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017