Search Districts Within

Sri Potti Sriramulu Nellore District : Andhra Pradesh

About District

Nellore District, the southern coastal district of Andhra Pradesh is bounded on the north by Prakasam District on the East by Bay of Bengal on the South by Chittoor District and Chengalpattu District of Tamilanadu and on the West by Veligonda Hills. The district was known as Vikrama Simhapuri until 13th Century and later it came to be referred to as Nellore.The city derives its name from the Tamil, “nelli” which means rice, as paddy cultivation is the predominant occupation in this region. Nellore, which was in the erstwhile Madras State, became a part of Andhra Pradesh in 1956. Potti Sriramulu, Telugu patriot and activist, who fasted to death for the formation of Andhra state was from Nellore. The Pennar and Swarnamukhi are the principal rivers, besides the streams like Kandaleru and Boggeru.The District is endowed with variety of major and minor Minerals.There are many places of Historical importance, the Ranganayakula Temple the Udayagiri fort, the Narasimha Konda, Penchala kona, Venkatagiri fort, Mypadu beach, famous rocket launching centre at Sriharikota, the Krishnapatnam port and Nelapattu Bird sanctuary. Administratively the District is divided into 46 Mandals, covering three Revenue Divisions with Head Quarters at Nellore, Gudur and Kavali.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017