Search Districts Within

YSR District, Kadapa (Cuddapah) District : Andhra Pradesh

About District

YSR District is said to be the heart of the Rayalaseema as it is centrally located and well connected with the 4 districts of Rayalaseema. Kadapa (also known as Cuddapah) is the district head quarters of YSR District. The District has a glorious history and a rich cultural heritage. It is identified as a part of Dandakaranya through which the Lord Rama and his consort Sita wandered during their exile. Holy rivers like Penna (Panakini), Papaghni, Chitravati, Mandavya cut across the District giving the land a sanctity of their own. Kunderu, Sagileru are the chief Northern tributaries to Penna and Cheyyeru, Papaghni and Chitravathi are the Southern tributaries. The total geographical area of the District is 15,379 sq. Kms. with 3 Revenue Divisions and 51 Mandals. And has two (Cuddapah & Rajampeta) Parliamentary Constituencies and eleven (Cuddapah, Pulivendula, Mydukur, Proddatur, Jammalamadugu, Lakkireddipalle, Rauchoti, Rly Kodur, Badvel, Rajampet & Kamalapuram) Assembly Constituencies. As per 2001 Census the population of the District is 26,01,797 of which the Rural Population is 20,14,044 and the Urban Population is 5,87,753.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017