Search Districts Within

Lower Dibang Valley District : Arunachal Pradesh

About District

The Lower Dibang Valley district, with its headquarter at Roing is the youngest of the fifteen districts of Arunachal Pradesh. It is named after the River Dibang-one of the important tributaries of mighty Brahmaputra. The district is bounded on the north by the Dibang Valley district, on the East by the Lohit district and Mc Mohan Line, on the west by the eastern and Upper Siang districts of Arunachal Pradesh and on the south by the Tinsukia district of Assam. The Area of the District is 3900 sq. km and the total population is 53,986 as per Census 2011. The district is well known for its largest cover of thick green forest with almost 80% of the area being notified as reserved forest, wild life sanctuaries or unclassified state forests. Administratively the District is divided into 3 Sub-Divisions, 3 Blocks and 6 Circles. Lower Dibang Valley is the land of enchanting beauty with its lush hills and deep valleys of the Himalayas, turbulent rivers flowing down the verdant hills abruptly emerging in the plains and colourful people belonging to Mishmi , Adi and Mishing and Galo tribes.

Citizen's Corner

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017