Search Districts Within

East Siang District : Arunachal Pradesh

About District

The East Siang District is a wild mountainous area and presents a remarkable topographical variety. The District has an area of 4005 The total population of the District is 87,397 as per 2011 census. The Name of the district is derived from the Mighty River Siang that, originating from Tibet, where it is called Tsangpo, transcends down and flows through the entire length of the area until it descends down into the plains of Asam south of Pasighat town, where it meets Dihang and Lohit and becomes the Brahmaputra. Pasighat town, the headquarter of the East Siang District, is situated at an altitude of 155 metres above main sea level and is the oldest town in Arunachal Pradesh. Administratively the district is divided into one Sub-division, six CD blocks and eight circles. The mighty Siang river is the life-line of the East Siang District and in Pasighat, it calms down before entering Assam south of Pasighat. The palces of interest in the District are Kekar Monying, Daying Ering Wild Life Sanctury, Pangin, Yambung, Boleng, Ranaghat at Pasighat, Rottung, Ayeng village on the left bank of the Siang, Balek, Craft centre, Pasighat and District Museum.

Citizen's Corner

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017