Search Districts Within

West Kameng District : Arunachal Pradesh

About District

West Kameng District of Arunachal Pradesh State is lying approximately between 91° 30' to 92°40' East longitudes and 26° 54' to 28° 01' North latitudes. The District is surrounded by Tibet region of China in the North, Bhutan in the West, Tawang District and East Kameng District are in the Northwest and East respectively and the Southern boundary adjoins Sonitpur District of Assam.The name of the District is derived from the Kameng river, a tributary of the mighty Brahmaputra, that flows through the District.West Kameng District is a mountainous tract in Arunachal Pradesh which covers an area of approximately 7422 Sq. Km. The topography of the district is mostly mountainous. A greater part of it falls within the higher mountain zone, consisting of a mass of tangled peaks and valleys. Tenga, Bichom and Dirang Chu are the main rivers flowing through the district. The inhabitants of the district comprises mainly of Monpa (Dirang, Boot, Lish, and Kalaktang monpa), Miji (Sajalong), Sherdukpen, Aka, and Bugun (Khawa). The HQ of this District is Bomdila.The Population of the District is 87,013 as per 2011 census. Administratively the District is divided into 3 Sub Divisions, 4 CD Blocks and 12 Circles.

Citizen's Corner

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017