Search Districts Within

Bongaigaon District : Assam

About District

On 29th September, 1989, the creation of Bongaigaon District was declared by the Government of Assam with its headquarter at Bongaigaon. The major portion of the areas of erstwhile Bijni and Sidli estates along with tracts of Eastern Duars was curved out of Goalpara and Kokrajhar District in October, 1989 in order to create a newest district of Assam, i.e. Bongaigaon. Although the logistic behind the creation of this new district was no doubt an administrative one but the political as well as economic exigencies were also responsible behind its creation. The geographical area of the District is 1725.29 sq. and the total population(as per 2011 census) is 738804 Km. Administratively the District is divided into 3 Sub-Divisions, 5 Revenue Circles and 5 CD Blocks. The important places in the District are Cave Temple (Jogighopa), Bagheswari Temple (Bagheswari Hill, Bongaigaon Town), Bishnupur Shankardeva Shatra (Bishnupur, Abhayapuri), Ganesh Mandir Ruins (Khagrapar Hill, Abhayapuri), KakoiJana Reserved Forest (For Golden Langur and Birds), Lalmati-Duramari Ganesh Mandir, Rock-Cut Cave, Koya-Kujiya, Bongaigaon Eco-Development Park and Birjhora Tea Garden etc.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017