Search Districts Within

Aurangabad District : Bihar

About District

Aurangabad district, lies between 240 57’ to 25029’ North Latitude and 860 21’ to 860 42’ East Longitude. It acquired the status of an independent district in the year 1973. The administrative head quarter of the district is located at Aurangabad which is the main town of the district. The district is bounded on the North by Arwal district on the South by Palamau district of Jharkhand on the East by Gaya district and on the West by Sone river. The famous Grand Trunk Road (N.H.-2) passes via Aurangabad. The area of the Aurangabad District is 10,100 sq. km. and the total population of this district is 20,35,757 as per 2001 census. There are two sub-divisions, eleven blocks, two municipalities, 203 Panchayats and 1884 Villages in the district. The places of tourist interests in the district are Deo Surya Mandir, Umga Temple, Manaura Temple, Sihari Temple , Chev Pachar , Daud Nagar Fort, Deo Kund, ShamSher Nagar Tomb, and Amjhar Sharif.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017