Search Districts Within

Bhojpur District : Bihar

About District

The present Bhojpur district came into existence in 1992. Earlier this district was part of old Sahabad district. Ara town is the headquarters of the district and also its principal town. The district is located at a Longitude of 83º-45' to 84º-45' East and the latitude is 25º-10' to 25º-40' North. Bhojpur district occupies a total area of 2474 sq. kms and main Rivers in the district are Ganga and Sone. The district is bounded on the North by Chapara and Balia District of Uttar Pradesh on the south by Rohtash District, on the Easy by Patna, Jahanabad and Arwal District and on the West by Buxar District. The district is divided into 3 Subdivisions and 14 blocks. The places of tourist in the district are Sun Temple, Tarari, Veer Kunwar Singh Qila, Jagdishpur, Maharaja College, Ara, Shahi Masjid, Karbala, Masjid of Maulabagh, Aranya Devi Temple, Chaturvuj Narayan Mandir, Bhavani Mandir, Jagdamba Mandir, Jain Sidhant Bhawan, Kurwa Shiv, and Lakar Sah Ki Mazar

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017