Search Districts Within

Buxar District : Bihar

About District

The present district of Buxar consists of areas under Buxar Sadar and Dumraon Sub-Division of the old Bhojpur district and came in existence in the year 1991. Buxar town is the headquarter of the district and also its principal town. The district is bounded on the north by Ballia district of Uttar Pradesh, on the south by Rohtas district, on the west by Ghazipur and Ballia districts of Uttar Pradesh and on the east by Bhojpur district. Buxar district consist of 2 Sub-division and 11 Blocks. Of the 11 Blocks, 7 are in Dumraon Sub-division while 4 in Buxar Sadar Sub-division. The total area of the district is 1,624 The river Sone and Ganges are the perennial source of surface water. They can provide irrigation to major portion of agricultural land. The places of tourist interest in the district are Shri Laxminarayan Temple, Shri Baba temple, Shri Khaki Baba Ashram, Naulakha Mandir, Shri Sita Ram marriage festival venue, Mazar of Shaheed Baba, navratanas Fort, Dumrejni Mai temple, the temple of Baba Brmhoshwar, Chau Sa battle field and Kthkauli.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017