Search Districts Within

Jehanabad District : Bihar

About District

Jehanabad was carved out of old Gaya district on 1st August, 1986. The city of Jehanabad, which is the head quarter of the district, is situated at the confluence of the rivers Dardha & Yamuna. According to the provisional estimate, this district is situated in between 25-0’ to 25-15’ degree North latitude and 84-31’ to 85-15’ East Longitude. Its surrounding districts are the district of Patna in north, Gaya in south, Nalanda in east and the newly created district of Arwal in the west. Major part of the land in the district is plain. The rivers Sone, Phalgu, Dardha & Yamuna cris-cross the district. There is one sub-division and seven blocks in this district. The Mazar of Bibi Kamal at Kako Bibipur, Sun Temple at Kako, Sun Temple at Bhelawar, Shidheshwar Nath Temple at Brabar Hill, Sun Temple at Meera Bigha, Vishnu Temple at Keur, Sun Temple/Kali Temple at Murgawan, Lord Vishnu Temple at Dabthu, Lord Vishnu Temple at Zaru, and Ghejan are some of the important places of interest in the district.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017