Search Districts Within

Muzaffarpur District : Bihar

About District

The present district of Muzaffarpur came to its existence in the 18th century and named after Muzaffar Khan, an Amil (Revenue Officer) under British Dynasty. Purbi Champaran and Sitamarhi districts on North, on the South Vaishali and Saran districts, on the East Darbhanga and Samastipur districts and on the West Saran and Gopalganj districts surround Muzaffarpur. Now it has won international encomiums for its delicious Shahi Leechi and China Leechi. The district covers an area of about 3122.56 Sq Km., Geographically, lies between 25O 54’ TO 26O 23’ north Latitude and 84O 53’ TO 85O 45’ east longitude. The district is bounded by Sitamarhi & East Champaran Districts on North, Vaishali & Saran Districts on South, Darbhanga & Samastipur Districts on East and Saran & Gopalganj districts on West. The district is divided into 2 sub-divisions, 16 blocks, 15 circles and 1811 Villages.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017