Search Districts Within

East Champaran (Motihari) District : Bihar

About District

East Champaran District is functioning from 2nd November 1972. The headquarter of district is at Motihari. It is situated at 26o 16' to 27o 1' North latitude and 84o 30' to 85o 16' East longitudes. Nepal makes its northern boundary, Sitamadhi and Sheohar eastern while Muzaffarpur South and with part of Gopalganj bounds it in western side. The name Champaran owes its origin to Champa-aranya or Champkatanys. Champa or Champaka means Magnolia and aranya means forest. Hence, Champaranya means Forest of Magnolia (CHAMPA) trees. The District comprises an area of 3968.0 sq km with 1344 villages having population of 50,82,868 as per 2011 census. The Administrative set up of the District is decentralized into 6 sub-division, 27 blocks, 27 Circles, 2 Nagar Parishad, 7 Nagar Panchayats and 405 Panchayats. The Buddhist Stupta, Kesaria, Ashokan Pillar, Lauriya, Areraj, Gandhi Memorial, Someshwar Shiv Mandir, Areraj, Orwell's birthplace, Raxaul-Gate way to Nepal, Village Madhopur-Govind are some of the important places to visit in the District.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017