Search Districts Within

Saharsa District : Bihar

About District

Saharsa district was created on 1st of April 1954. Formerly it had no independent status and parts of Saharsa were included in the old districts of Munger & Bhagalpur A large parts of the district in the past was subjected to annual floods and inundation by a host of rivers origination from the Himalayas. The sub terai was noted for rice cultivation before it was subjected to the vagaries of the unpredictable Koshi. The total area of the district is 1661.30 and its total population is 1506418. The district is divided into 2 sub-divisions and 10 blocks. The important places in the districts are Mandan Bharti Asthan, Sun Temple at Kandaha, Chandikasthan at Biratpur, Babaji Kuti (Laxminath Gosaisthal), Bangaon, Nauhatta, Karu Khirhari temple, Matsyagandha Mandir Matsyagandha Mandirand and Shri.Ugratarasthan at Manishi.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017