Search Districts Within

Samastipur District : Bihar

About District

Samastipur district spread over an area of 2904 sq. kms. The district is bounded on the north by the Bagmati River which separates it from Darbhanga district. On the west it is bordered by Vaishali and some part of Muzaffarpur district, on the south by the Ganges, while on its east it has Begusarai and some part of Khagaria district. According to the 2011 census, Population Density in the District is 1465 per and the total population is 4.25 million. The district comprises of 4 sub-divisions, and 20 Community Development Blocks. It has 5 towns and 1248 villages. Infrastructure wise Samastipur is very strong. It is the Divisional Headquarters of the North Eastern railway. Thaneshwar Temple is a very famous tample of Lord Shiva, and is situated at the heart of the city. Durga temple in Kessopatti is one of the oldest temple. Manipur bhagwatisthan is one of the oldest and lively durga temple in Shekhopur, Samastipur. Khudneswar Siva Temple located 17 km form Samastipur near Morwa block is unique example of Hindu-Muslim unity.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017