Search Districts Within

Sitamarhi District : Bihar

About District

The district of Sitamarhi was carved out of Muzaffarpur district on 11th December 1972. It is situated in the northern part of Bihar. Its headquarter is located at Dumra, five kilometers south of Sitamarhi. The total Area of the district is 2294 Sq. Km. Geographically the district lies between 260 12' 51'' N to 260 49' 17'' N Latitude and 850 12' 0'' E to 850 42' 48'' E Longitude. The district is bounded on North by Nepal country, Muzaffarpur on South District, Darbhanga & Madhubani dsitrcits on East and East Champaran and Sheohar districts on west. The Bagmati, Lakhandei and Adhwara Group are some of the major rivers flowing throgh the district. There are 3 sub-divisions,17 blocks and 17 circles in the district. The places of tourist interest in the districts are Punaura Dham, Haleshwar Nath, Panth Pakar, Bodhyan Sar, Bagahi Math, Baba Nageshwar Nath, Goraul Sharif, and Shukeshwar Sthan.

District Administration

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017