Search Districts Within

Chamba District : Himachal Pradesh

About District

Chamba is bounded on north-west by Jammu and Kashmir, on the north-east and east by Ladakh area of Jammu and Kashmir state and Lahaul and Bara-Bangal area of Himachal Pradesh, on the south-east and south by the District Kangra of Himachal Pradesh and Gurdaspur District of the Punjab. The Chamba District is situated between north latitude 32° 11' 30" and 33° 13' 6" and east longitude 75°49 and 77° 3' 30", with an estimated area of 6528 and is surrounded on all sides by lofty hill ranges. The territory is wholly mountainous with altitude ranging from 2,000 to 21,000 feet. Administratively, the district is divided into seven Sub-Divisions viz. Chamba, Dalhousie, Tissa, Chowari, Bharmour, Pangi, and Salooni. The district has eight Tehsils viz. Chamba, Dalhousie, Tissa, Chowari, Bharmour, Pangi, Salooni and Sihunta, and 3 SubTehsils viz. Bhalei,Holi and Dharwala. The district comprises of seven Development Blocks viz. Chamba, Mehla, Tissa, Bhattiyat, Bharmour, Pangi, and Salooni. The places of tourist interests in the districts are Dalhousie, Khajjiar, Chamba Town, Pangi and Bharamour. The district also has five lakes, five wild life sanctuaries and countless number of temples.

District Administration


District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017