Search Districts Within

Mandi District : Himachal Pradesh

About District

The present District of Mandi was formed with the merger of two princely states Mandi and Suket on 15th April 1948, when the State of Himachal Pradesh came into existence. The district is situated between 31-13-50 and 32-04-30 north latitude and 76-37-20 and 77-23-15 east longitude. It is bounded by Kangra on the north-west, Hamirpur & Bilaspur in the west, Arki tehsil of Solan district in the south, Shimla district in the south-west and Kullu district in the east. The district has 2 main rivers viz. the Beas and the Satluj. The total geographical area of the district is 3,950 As per Census 2011, the total population of the district is 999,777 out of which 498,065 are males and 501,712 are females. The district is divided into 10 Sub-Divisions, 16 Tehsils , 7 Sub Tehsils and 10 Development Blocks. The district has a number of Archeological objects of interest, in which the temples form the main chunk. The larger and more important temples of the district are trilokinath temple, panchvaktra temple, salanu rock inscription and bhootnath temple. The places of tourist interests in the district are Prashar lake, Barot valley, Janjehli and Rewalsar lake.


District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017