Search Districts Within

Chatra District : Jharkhand

About District

Chatra district was a subdivision of Hazaribagh district and was created as district vide notification no. 128 dated 29-05-1991 Personnel and Administrative Reforms Dept., Govt. of Bihar. The district comprises of two subdivisions, 12 development Blocks/Anchals, 154 Panchayats and 1474 Revenue Villages. There is only one municipality - that is at the district head quarter of Chatra. The district covers an area of 3706 It is bounded by the district of Gaya of Bihar state in the north, Palamu district in the west and Latehar in the South and Koderma and Hazaribag district in the East. It has a population of 10,42,304 as per Census 2011. The important places to visit in the district are Bhaduli(Bhadrakali), Kolhua Hill, Kauleshwari Devi, Kunda Cave, Tamasin, Bichkiliya water falls, Duari water falls, Khaya Banaroo water falls, Keridah water falls, Maloodah water falls, Dumer Sumer water falls, Goa water falls,Barura Sharif water falls and Gogri water falls.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017