Search Districts Within

Garhwa District : Jharkhand

About District

The erstwhile Garhwa Subdivision of Palamau district consisting of 8 Blocks was separated from Palamau district as an independent district “Garhwa” with effect from 1st April 1991. It is situated on Southwest corner of Palamau division, which lies between 23°60’ to 24°39’ N Latitude and 83°22’ to 84°00’ E Longitude. The district is surrounded by river Sone in the north; Palamau district and area of Chhatisgarh in the south; Palamau district in the east and Sarguja district of Chhatisgarh and Sonebhadra district of U.P. in the west. The district consist of three subdivisions namely Garhwa, NagarUntari and Ranka. There are Ninteen development blocks in the district. The revenue circles which are also Six in numbers are contiguous with Development Block. There are 196 Gram Panchayats, 916 inhabited villages and 62 un-habited (Bechiragi) villages in this district. The important places to visit in the district are Radha Krishna Mandir, Saruat Pahar, Raja Pahari, Kanjia and Sukhaldari River.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017