Search Districts Within

Sahibganj District : Jharkhand

About District

The district of Sahibganj with a predominantly tribal population is a part of Santhal Pargana division and forms the eastern most tip of the division. The Rajmahal and Pakur subdivisions of old Santhal Pargana district were carved out on 17th May, 1983 to form Sahibganj district. The district of Sahibganj lies approximately between 24042' north and 25021' north lattitude and between 87025' and 87054 east longitude. Sahibganj is the administrative headquarter of the district and situated on the bank of the river Ganges. The geographical area of the district is 1599.00 sq. km. It is bounded on north by the river Ganges and district of Katihar, on the south by the district Godda, on the east by Maldah and Murshidabad districts of the state of West Bengal, and on the west by Bhagalpur and Godda districts. The district of Sahibganj consists of 2 Sub divisions, 9 Blocks and 1819 Villages. The important places to visit in the district are Rajmahal, Mangalhat, Kanhaiyasthan, Sahibganj, Teliagarhi, Shivgadi, Binduvasini Temple, Shukravasini Temple, Raksisthan, Bhoganadih and Panchkathiya, Udhwa Bird Sanctuary, Moti Jharna and Maghi Mela.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017