Search Districts Within

Rangareddy District : Telangana

About District

Ranga Reddy District was formed on 15th August, 1978 by carving out some portion of Hyderabad Urban Taluk and the merger of the entire Rural and Urban Areas of the remaining Taluks of Erstwhile Hyderabad District. This District is primarily the Rural hinterland for Hyderabad City feeding the powerful commercial Centre with various raw Materials, agriculture produce and finished products. The District is located in the Central Part of the Deccan Plateau and lies between 160 30` and 180 20` of North Latitude and 770 30` and 790 30` of East Longitudes. The District is bounded on the North by Medak District, East by Nalgonda District, South by Mahaboobnagar District, West by Gulbarga District & North West of Bidar District of Karnataka State. It covers an area of 7564.88 Sq. Kms. The district has three Revenue divisions, 12 Agricultural Sub-divisions, with 37 Mandals,1055 villages. The places of tourist interest in the district are Ramoji Film City, Hi-tech city, Osmansagar Dam, Maheshwaram, Chilkur, Sanghi, Durgam Cheruvu Lake, Shilparamam, Keesaragutta, Ocean Park, Shamirpet Lake, Anantagiri Hills, Himayath Sagar, Runway-9 Sport Gokarting, and Dhola Ri Dhani

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017