Search Districts Within

Hyderabad District : Telangana

About District

Hyderabad (Urban) District in its present shape has come into existence in August, 1978 consequent on formation of a new District, Ranga Reddy from the erstwhile Hyderabad District. All the rural areas of erst-while Hyderabad District have been included in Ranga Reddy District, while the area of Muncipal Corporation of Hyderabad (Exclding a small part), Secunderabad Cantonment, Lalaguda and Osmania University are included in Hyderabad District. There are 66 villages in the District and they are grouped into erstwhile talukas, Viz., Charminar, Golconda, Musheerabad and Secunderabad. The total area of the district is 217 Sq Km. The district has 2 Parliament Constituencies and 15 Assembly Constituencies. The Charminar, Birla Mandir, Macca Masjid, Salarjung Museum, Qutub Shahi Tombs, Golconda Fort, Birla Planetarium, Science Museum, Nehru Zoological Park, Budda Poornima, Public Garden, The Falaknuma Palace, Asman Garh Palace, and Mahaveer Harina Vanasthali National Park are some of the important places to visit in the District. The State capital being in this District, it is highly developed in all aspects. With a view to bringing up the administration to the door steps of the people to solve their problems upliftment of the people.

District Administration


District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017