Search Districts Within

Warangal (Urban) District : Telangana

About District

The old name of Warangal district is Orugallu. Oru means one and Kallu means stone. The district is situated between 78° 49' and 80° 43'E, of the eastern longitudes and 17° 19' and 18° 36'N, of northern latitudes. The district is bounded by Karimnagar District to the north, Khammam District to the east and southeast, Nalgonda District to the southwest, and Medak District to the west. The district has population of 35,12,576 as per the census 2011. The total geographical area of the district is 12,846 Sq.kms. The district is divided into 51 mandals and 1,098 villages. The places of tourist interest in the districts are Warangal Fort, Bhadrakali Temple, Ghanpur Temples, Lakhanavaram Lake, Musical Garden, Pakhal Lake, Thousand Pillars Temple, Ramappa Lake, Brassware Pembarti, Vana Vigyanam Kendra, and Etunagaram Wild Life Senctuary etc.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017