Search Districts Within

Thanjavur District : Tamil Nadu

About District

Thanjavur District is the Rice Bowl of Tamil Nadu. The district stands unique from time immemorial for its agricultural activities and is rightly acclaimed as the Granary of the South India lying in the deltaic region of the famous river Cauvery and criss-crossed by lengthy network of irrigation canals, this coastal district abounds in green paddy fields, tall coconut groves, vast gardens of mango and plantain trees and other verdant vegetation. Thanjavur District lies at the East Coast of Tamil Nadu. It is situated between 9’ 50’ and 11’ 25’ of the northern latitude and 78’ 45’ and 70 25’ of the Eastern longitude. It extends to an area of 3396.57 sq.kms. For Administrative purposes the district has been divided into 3 Revenue Divisions, 8 Taluks, 50 Firkas and 906 Revenue Villages . For local arrangements, the district has been divided into 3 Municipalities, 14 Panchayat Unions. The Brahadeewarar Temple - Big Temple, Palace, Saraswathi Mahal Library, Royal Museum, Schwartz Church, Tamil University, Poondi Matha Baslica, Thirukarugavoor Arulmighu Mullaivananathar and the Karpagarahshambigai temples, Patteeswaram Durgai Amman Temple,Manora, Swamimalai Temple, Darasuram Temple, Uppliappan Koil,Thiruvidai Maruthur and Navagraha Temples near Kumbakonam are the important places in the District to visit.


District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017