Search Districts Within

Tiruvarur District : Tamil Nadu

About District

The District of Tiruvarur was carved out as a separate district by detaching Valangaiman Taluk from Thanjavur District and Thiruvarur, Nannilam, Kudavasal, Needamangalam, Mannargudi , Thirutturaippundi Taluks from Nagappatinam District on 01.01.1997. The total geographical area of the district is 2374 Sq. km. For Administrative purposes the district has been divided into 2 Revenue Divisions, 7 Taluks, 27 Firkas and 573 Revenue Villages. Sri Thiyagarajar Swamy Temple, Thiruvarur, Sri Saraswathi Temple, Koothanur, Sri Murugan Temple, Enkan, Sri Rajagopalaswamy Temple, Mannargudi, Sri Kothandaramar Temple, Thillai Vilagam, Sri Sivan Temple (Guru Sthalam), Alangudi, Sri Lalithambigai Temple, Thirumeiychur, Sri Saneeshwaran Temple, Thirukollikadu, Jambuvanodai Dharga, Muthupettai, Bird Sanctuary Vaduvur, Bird Sanctuary Udhayamarthandapuram and Lagoon Muthupettai are some of the important places to visit in the Tiruvarur District.

District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017