Search Districts Within

Chamoli District : Uttarakhand

About District

Chamoli, carved as a seperate revenue district in 1960 out of the erstwhile Grahwal district, lies in the Central Himalya and constitutes a part of the celebrated 'Kedar Kshetra'. The District Chamoli is surrounded by Uttarkashi in North-West, Pithoragarh in South-West,Almora in South East,Rudraprayag in South-West and Tehri Grahwal in West. The total geographical area of the District is around 7520 sq.kms. Chamoli district is criss-crossed by several important rivers and their tributaries. Alaknanda, traversing a distance of 229 kms. before it confluence with Bhagirathi at Devprayag and constituting the Ganga, is the major river. The district is divided into 6 Tehsils, 9 Blocks, and 1154 Villages. The places of tourist interests in the Districts are Auli, Gopeshwar, Vasu dhara, Valley of Flowers, Satopanth Lake, Bedni Bugyal, RoopKund, Badrinath, Tapovan, Gwaldam, Joshimath, Kagbhusandi Tal, Nanda devi Sanctuary, Hemkund Sahib, Kuari Pass, and Rudra nath.


District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017