Search Districts Within

Dehradun District : Uttarakhand

About District

The district Dehradun is situated in the north-west corner of the Uttarakhand state. It is bounded on the north and to some distance in the north-west by the district of Uttarkashi, in the east by the district Tehri Garhwal and Pauri-Garhwal, in the south by the district of Saharanpur(Uttar Pradesh). At its southern tip touching the boundary of district Haridwar. Its western boundary adjoins the Sirmur(Nahan) district of Himachal Pradesh with the rivers Tons and Yamuna separating the two. The district lies between 29 degrees 58' and 31 degrees 2' 30" north latitudes and 77 degrees 34' 45" and 78 degrees 18' 30" east longitudes. The total area of the district is 3088 sq kms and its Altitude is 640 mts.(2100 ft) above sea level. The places of tourist interests in the Districts are Dehradun, Mussoorie, Chakrata, and Rishikesh.


District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017