Search Districts Within

Pauri Garhwal District : Uttarakhand

About District

Pauri Garhwal, a district of Uttarakhand state encompasses an area of 5230 sq. km and situated between 29° 45’ to 30°15’ Latitude and 78° 24’ to 79° 23’ E Longitude. This district is ringed by the districts of Chamoli, Rudraprayag & Tehri Garhwal in North, Bijnor & Udhamsingh Nagar in South, Almora & Nainital in East, Dehradun & Haridwar in West. The District is administratively divided into ten tehsils, and fifteen developmental blocks. Pauri is the administrative centre for the whole of Pauri Garhwal region and is situated at an altitude of 1650 m. and has a population of 6,87,271 as per the 2011 Census. The district as part of the Western Himalaya presents a unique set of ecological characteristics over a complex variety of systems that incorporate forests, meadows, savannah grasslands, marshes and rivers, as well as wildlife, geology and several other phyto-geographically distinctive peculiarities. The places of tourist interests in the Districts are Khirsu, Doodhatoli, Binsar, Adwani, Tara Kund, Kandoliya, Kanvashram, Bharat Nagar, Kalagarh, Neelkanth, Chilla Wildlife Sanctuary, Dhikala, Develgarh, Shankar Math, Keshori Math, Binsar Mahadev, Kanda, Deval, and Laldhang


District at a Glance

  • District
  • Headquarters
  • State
Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017