Search Districts Within

Agra District : Uttar Pradesh

About District

Agra has a rich historical background, which is amply evident from the numerous historical monuments in and around the city. The Taj Mahal of Shah Jhan, Agra Fort of Akbar, Itmad-Ud-Daulah and neighbouring Sikandra are but few of the many that spangle the city, each of which stands in mute testimony to the Agra city's grandur over the ages. The Agra district is situated in western U.P. between 27.11' degree Latitude North and 78.0' degree to 78.2' degree Longitute East. Its Altitude is 169 meters above sea level. On the North it is bounded by Mathura District, On the South it is bounded by Dhaulpur District, On the East it is bounded by Firozabad District and On the West it is bounded by Bharatpur. Agra is situated on the bank of Yamuna river. The Agra district is divided into 6 Tehsils and 15 Blocks. The places of toutist interests in the district are Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, Fatehpur Sikri, Sikandra, Itmad ud Daula, Soor Sarovar, Chausat khambha , Roman Catholic Cemetery, Chini ka Rauz, Mariam's Tomb, Chhatri of Raja Jaswant Singh, Bharatpur Bird Sanctury, Chambal Safari, Mathura, Vrindavan, Guru ka Taal, and Dayal Bagh.

District Administration

District at a Glance

Area in Sq Km (Census 2011)
  • Total
  • Rural
  • Urban
Population (Census 2011)
  • Population
  • Rural
  • Urban
  • Male
  • Female
  • Sex Ratio (Females per 1000 males)
  • Density (Total, Persons per sq km)
Constituencies (ECI)
  • Assembly
  • Loksabha

Brought to you by National Informatics Centre | Page Last updated : July 04 2017